Unibroue Blanche de Chambly Beer Review

Blanche de Chambly
Unibroue (Chambly, Quebec, Canada)
Style: Witbier
ABV: 5%
$2.87 per bottle ($11.49/four 12oz bottles)

Unibroue’s Blanche de Chambly is a capable torch bearer for witbiers but is overpriced.

I went to Binny’s, Chicagoland’s alcoholic beverage superstore, with the intention of buying some cheap brandy and leaving. The beer drinker in me thought, “I’ll scope out the beer section to have a better idea of what I’d like next time I come in. I won’t actually buy any beer. I need to save money so I will not buy any beer.”

My steely resolve wavered, especially after seeing another aesthetically-pleasing Unibroue product: Blanche de Chambly beckoned me this time. Something about the foil-covered tops draws me. It must subconsciously remind me of unwrapping a present.

I popped open a bottle to enjoy during the Butler-VCU Final Four game.

The Blanche de Chambly looked a deep, golden yellow. It was very opaque; I could not see through the glass. The head was about an inch and it left soon after it appeared.

It had an aroma of yeast and wheat that I could barely detect. It essentially smelled clean without much else.

Once in my mouth, Blanche de Chambly felt very fizzy and carbonated. It was almost like I had taken a swig of soda. The taste was crispy, light and again very subtle. It does not linger.

The Blanche de Chambly isn’t a bad beer; it’s actually a solid witbier. But it’s underwhelming and impractical, given that it costs about $12 for four bottles. This somewhat disappointing experience will likely end my foray into Unibroue’s collection.

2/4

Leave a comment

Filed under Canadian, Witbier

Leave a comment